

Victorian Branch

The Victorian Branch Committee sees it as appropriate to recognise service to the mental health of Victorian people.

Background:

The Awards are intended to recognise the achievements of "unsung heroes", i.e. those psychiatrists who have made significant contributions without having received formal acknowledgement or accolades in the usual course of their work. The Award is also intended to acknowledge the achievements of those who have gone "above and beyond" the duties of their job, having made important contributions to psychiatry (often unpaid or voluntary) that go outside their job description. The Award Selection Committee will give nominees who fit these descriptions special consideration.

Form of the Meritorious Service Awards:

The Victorian Meritorious Service Awards comprises a framed Certificate. Presentation of the Certificate will take place at the Victorian Branch Conference or another appropriate Branch event.

Criteria:

There are two Victorian Branch awards that are presented on an annual basis are for:

- A Fellow of the College in Victoria, who has made significant sustained contribution to the practice of psychiatry in a clinical, academic or administrative capacity.
- 2) Agency or individual who is not a College member, who has contributed to the improvement of mental health of Victorians.



Victorian Branch

This distinguished service can cover any area (or more than one area) of psychiatric practice, such as:

- Clinical care of patients in private and/or public practice
- Teaching and/or training of medical students, registrars, or other mental health clinicians
- Mentoring of junior colleagues
- Participation in College activities, such as Examinations, Branch Committee roles or administrative roles for the College
- Research in Psychiatry
- Administrative roles within Mental Health
- Advocacy for consumers and carers within the mental health system
- Activities that enhance the public image of psychiatry or improve public understanding of mental illness.
- Leading with a co-leadership approach, including actively engaging with and providing support to colleagues across all disciplines including lived and living experience individuals and workforce, and actively engaging to shape and influence outcomes.

Nomination Process:

The Victorian Meritorious Service Awards are given by nomination only. Call for nominations for the Award will be advertised in the Vic Branch Newsletter and via email to Vic Members.

Nominations may be made by any member of the RANZCP. They must set out the reasons for the nomination and highlight the areas of psychiatry the service has been in, such as the above. Nominations must be submitted via the submission portal link included in the call for nominations. They should comprise a maximum of 500 words and may include a brief CV if desired.

Victorian Branch, The Royal Australian & New Zealand College of Psychiatry, Meritorious Service Award Terms of Reference



Victorian Branch

Once all submissions have been collated, they will be sent to the Selection Panel, who will usually comprise Victorian Branch Committee members, for consideration and selection of the winners.

Submission Deadline:

The closing date for submissions will be in March/April.

Selection Process:

- This Awards will be awarded to a maximum of one Fellow and one non-College Fellow/Agency each year should the Selection Panel deem a nominee meets the criteria. If no nominees meet the criteria an award will not be issued.
- Nominees who do not receive the award in any year may be re-nominated subsequently.
- Any Fellow/organisation can only receive the Meritorious Service Award on one occasion. Previous winners are listed below.
- The Selection Panel will consider the written information provided but can seek further information from other sources if desired.
- Nominees will not sit on the Selection Panel
- The list of nominations will not be published.
- There is no appeal process.

RANZCP – VIC Branch Tel: +61(0)3 9601 4924 Email: <u>ranzcp.vic@ranzcp.org</u> Victorian Branch, The Royal Australian & New Zealand College of Psychiatry, Meritorious Service Award Terms of Reference



Victorian Branch

Previous Winners

Victorian Branch Meritorious Service Award Winners – College Fellow

Year	Winner
2005	Professor Brian Davies
2006	Dr Ian Martin
2008	Professor Graham Dene Burrows AO
2009	Dr Michael G Duke
2010	Professor Bruce Tonge
2011	Professor George Mendelson
2012	Professor Thomas Callaly
2013	Associate Professor Ruth Vine
2014	Professor Malcolm Hopwood
2015	Professor Jayashri Kulkarni (AM)
2016	Dr William Pring
2017	Associate Professor Josephine Beatson
2018	Dr Frances Minson
2019	Professor Daniel O'Connor
2020	Associate Professor Sathya Rao
2021	Associate Professor Ravi Bhat
2022	Associate Professor Alexandra Cockram
2023	Professor Manjula O'Connor
2024	Professor Dan Lubman (AM)

Victorian Branch Meritorious Service Award Winners – Agency or Individual

Year	Winner
2002	The Mental Health Council of Australia
2005	Alzheimer's Australia, Victoria
2006	Mood Disorder Support Group of Victoria
2008	Orygen
2014	The Hon Mary Wooldridge
2017	Dr Jeya Lekshmi Viswanathan
2019	Ms Julie Dempsey
2020	Prof Alan Gijsbers
2021	The Asylum Seeker Resource Centre (Melbourne)
2022	Hand N Hand
2023	Spectrum